web analytics

Region VIII: Eastern Visayas

San Juanico Bridge, the Philippines

The San Juanico Bridge, connecting the islands Leyte and Samar

Region VIII consists of six provinces: Samar, Eastern Samar, Northern Samar, Leyte, Soutern Leyte and Biliran. Its regional center is Tacloban City.

Tourism in this region is still in its infancy.

Note: The Eastern Visayas region was hit hard by Typhoon Haiyan, known as Typhoon Yolanda in the Philippines.